Artist Ian Richards selected for HALLE14 Leipzig exchange@2015.le project / by Claire Farrell

We are delighted to announce that HALLE14, Leipzig has awarded Ian Richards a residency placement and three-month scholarship in Leipzig from May – July 2015 within the exchange@2015.le project

exchange@2015.le is an artist exchange project with Partner Cities of Leipzig
HALLE14 LEIPZIG (DE) – BIRMINGHAM (GB) WERK and Glenn Howells Architects

Ian Richards was part of a shortlist of West Midlands based artists (below) created for HALLE14 by Claire Farrell. With special thanks and gratitude to Rachel Bradley, Curator New Art West Midlands for her support in selecting artists for the shortlist.

The 2015 exchange project will celebrate the one thousand year anniversary of Leipzig city status (first mentioned by the Merseburg Bishop Thietmar 975/976-1018).

Ian Richards will be based in a studio with host HALLE 14 http://www.halle14.org - the not-for-profit Centre for Contemporary Art located in Leipzig’s historic cotton-spinning mill. HALLE14 initiated this artistic exchange programme in cooperation with partner cities of Leipzig.

WERK in partnership with Glenn Howells Architects will select a Leipzig based artist imminently to host in Birmingham from July-September 2015.

The artist’s work created in residence (Birmingham, Leipzig, Lyon) will culminate in a group show in HALLE14, Leipzig from November 2015.

It was a very difficult decision for HALLE14 to select only one artist from the shortlist below.

The Leipzig Selection Panel members were as follows:

Michael Arzt, Director HALLE14
Sebastian Kretzschmar & Jan Thomaneck (FAMED)
Andreas Wolf (Professur for Urban Planning & Development, University of Applied Science Leipzig)
Dr. Caren Marusch-Krohn (Office for International Affairs, City of Leipzig)

WERK would like to thank the following artists for being part of the shortlist and hope to work with them in the near future.


Stuart Layton http://stuartrlayton.com/

Camilla Searle http://camillasearle.wix.com/camilla-searle

Ali Reed http://alireedfineart.tumblr.com/

Cathy Wade http://cathywade.co.uk/

Matt Watkins http://www.mwatkins.uk/

Ian Richards www.heavyobject.com

Corey Hayman http://coreyhayman.weebly.com/

Sharon Farrelly http://www.sharonfarrelly.co.uk/

Dan Auluk http://www.danauluk.co.uk/

Kathleen Fabre https://www.facebook.com/KathleenFabreArtist

Lucy Hutchinson http://www.lucyhutchinson.co.uk/

Yasmin Rennie

The Leipzig based artist selected for the Birmingham residency as part of exchange@2015.le will be announced by the end of April.

Birmingham selection panel:

Glenn Howells, Director Glenn Howells Architects
Claire Farrell, Curator, Director WERK
Cathy Wade, Artist
Rachel Bradley, Curator New Art West Midlands

There will be more opportunities for artist commissions within various WERK and partner projects towards the end of 2015.